Neglected in the Southern Hemisphere

The internet is boring at the moment, with all you Americans off at K’zoo. In a few months time, medievalists who can afford it will all be gallivanting off to Leeds, and shortly after that, Anglo-Saxonists are taking off to somewhere really obscure in Canada, I think, for ISAS.

I, meanwhile, feel left out. So this is a good time to say: The Australian and New Zealand Association for Medieval and Early Modern Studies are holding their biennal conference in Hobart this December. Barring sudden evaporation of bank account, I will be there. I believe ZcatAbroad will be too, and I’ll be damned if we don’t have a blogger’s meet up all of our own. Even if there’s just two of us. And we will do our best to kick up an internet fuss and make post-conference posts and so forth.

If you’re also planning on being there, let me know. Closer to the date I suppose we’ll sort out times and places for said meetup.

If you didn’t know you wanted to be there, but now you do, the Call For Papers is open. Hobart is a lovely place in December. Australian / New Zealand Medievalists are fun to party have serious scholarly dialogue with.

5 Responses to “Neglected in the Southern Hemisphere”

  1. Jonathan Jarrett Says:

    There’s something beautifully absurd about the idea of coming from England to Australia to talk about Catalonia. But I don’t think my carbon conscience or my Christmas wallet would see the argument I’m afraid…

  2. highlyeccentric Says:

    pssht. Conscience. Common sense. I repudiate them all!

  3. Jonathan Jarrett Says:

    The power of the feedline compels me: “You want to be careful how widely you advertise that, madam…”

  4. highlyeccentric Says:

    *halo*

    I am a most conscientious person, thank you. Common sense, however, I utterly lack, and there’s no point pretending otherwise 😉

  5. meli Says:

    sigh, don’t think i can make it, though i will, sensibly enough, be at leeds… the anzamems conference i went to in adelaide last year was one of my favourite conferences ever. and i got my paper published in The Australian as a result. how cool is that?


Leave a Reply

