There are POSTERS. With my NAME on them.

I find this very very intimidating. In order to get to the Bocera’s office, I have to go through the middle of the English department- I skip the CMS corridor but have to go past Awesome’s office, the doors and outside walls of which are papered with CMS adverts. And the common spaces are papered with said adverts. They have my name on them.

Centre  for  Medieval Studies
University  of  Sydney

Student  Seminar  Series

Amy  Brown

Legislating for the Stranger :
Archbishop Wulfstan and King Cnut

Harry  Peters

Testing the Boundaries of Romance and Marriage :
John Gower and ‘The Steward’s Tale’

5.00 for 5.30 p.m. start
Monday  8 September
Fourth  Floor  Common  Room
John  Woolley  Building  A20

Fortunately, I do think I know what I’m going to say in said paper. That’s a start. 🙂 And I know what my thesis is about! WHEEE!

5 Responses to “There are POSTERS. With my NAME on them.”

  1. Richard Scott Nokes Says:

    Huzzah! Wish I could come!

    By the way, is there any way you’re publishing the seminar after you’re done? If you could work out an audio or video posting, I for one would be happy to put the word out with a link or, if possible, an embedded posting of the file.

    One caveat — you’ll have to promise to be the *clothed* philologist if it’s video. I try to run a PG rated site, you know.

  2. kishnevi Says:

    Just think of it as a (dressed) rehearsal for Kalamazoo. Or Leeds. Or is there a similar event in Terra Australis?

  3. highlyeccentric Says:

    Thanks, Dr Nokes! I’m afraid the Woolley Common Room is rather technologically deficient, so the chances of getting any sort of podcasty thing going are extremely slim 😦 This is probably all for the best, since I still haven’t started writing the thing :s. Thanks for the offer though 🙂

    Kishnevi- there’s a biannual conference of the Australian and New Zealand Association for Medieval and Early Modern Studies. I was planning to go, but personal crap kind of wiped me out for a few months and I couldn’t get anything together to submit.

  4. timothy allen brown Says:

    why i do believe i found my cousin in australia! oh wait…there’s are billions of browns. nevertheless 😉

  5. Richard Scott Nokes Says:

    Writing a presentation at the last moment is a time-honored approach. I know for a fact that one prominent medievalist (no, I’ll not name names) once wrote his presentation while sitting on a toilet in the airport on the way to the conference. He was found out because his battery died, and he had to stretch the power cord out of the stall to the sinks in order to plug it in.

    No, I’m not making this up. By the way, the presentation turned out to be pretty good (though possibly not very sanitary).


Leave a Reply

