The best part of thesis writing…

I just wrote the most satisfying piece of thesis, bar none. No, not the final sentence, although I’ve written that too (in fact, I’m not sure about it, and will probably spend the next week fiddling with it).

The best part was, in fact, not the pretty frontispiece with Wulfstan’s handwriting on it, nor the title page (whoo! I have a title). ‘Twas the acknowledgements.

And because I’m feeling so full of affection and enthusiasm for all those so acknowledged, let me reproduce that paragraph here:

I wish to sincerely thank Dr Daniel Anlezark for his invaluable constructive input in supervision of this thesis, and for the unerring patience with which said input has been delivered. Furthermore, I wish to thank Dr Melanie Heyworth for several years of excellent and exacting teaching, in addition to much appreciated mentoring and assistance in matters academic. Thanks also go to Associate Professor John Pryor, for first introducing me to the marvelous world of medieval studies, and for enouraging me in further study. Finally, thanks must go to Drs Alex Jones, Lawrence Warner, David Juste, and the members of the Centre for Medieval Studies, Old English Reading Group and Middle English Reading Group at the Universtity of Sydney, without whose assistance, encouragement and friendship my university experience would have been considerably less rich.

So there. These people are unerringly, unbelievably fabulous, and if I’m glad of nothing else, I’m glad I did this because it meant I got to work with them.

6 Responses to “The best part of thesis writing…”

  1. me Says:

    Yay!
    I think Alex might actually not be a doctor. Never did a PhD, anyway. So, unless he got an honorary one, which he definately deserves, no dice.
    XX, pix.

  2. highlyeccentric Says:

    WHUT. I didn’t think you COULD not do a Phud. Huh. I shall make appropriate corrections.

  3. Lawrence Says:

    Gee thanks, you’re swell!

  4. Stephanie Says:

    Gorgeous! I agree: best part about finishing something.

    The word university is impossible to type accurately, of course…

    Sorry, that’s my special gift: being able to find the typo when everyone else is celebrating the new arrival of a book. Just call me Carabossa.

    Good luck with the last stages.

  5. highlyeccentric Says:

    Ahaha. I just got the marked-up draft back for final edits- I managed to make a mistake in the TITLE, as well as being unable to spell university. *rolls eyes*

  6. Stephanie Says:

    Now that *is* impressive!


Leave a Reply

