Sign of the Consummate Nerd:

Today, I handed in my thesis. I know *exactly* where the major problem is. But on the other hand I’m reasonably certain where all the good bits are, and there’s more good bits than problem. And it has a pretty title page, that has to count for something.

Anyhoo. That wasn’t the thing I came here to tell you. I came here to tell you that, if you ever had doubts about my academic nerdery, it will be dispelled when I tell you what I did to ‘reward’ myself for finishing my thesis.

I bought books. Which is to be expected, for a book addict. But I bought academic books. I couldn’t help it! The Co-Op Bookstore had a sale on!

I bought two copies of McCluskey’s Astronomies and Cultures in Early Medieval Europe, for less than ten dollars each (one for me and one for the college library). And, what’s better:

The Lettres Gothiques edition of Chretien’s Conte du Graal, for about a fifth of the RRP, and the Pauphilet edition of La Queste del Saint Graal, for about a fifth of its RRP.

I must be some kind of masochist. Buying academic books as a reward for writing a thesis. MAD. But they’re so interesting!

3 Responses to “Sign of the Consummate Nerd:”

  1. kishnevi Says:

    Not at all. You bought two great adventure stories. It’s not your fault you can read them in the original language.

  2. highlyeccentric Says:

    Ahaha see, the thing is, I CAN’T. But I intend to force myself to do so anyway. Which makes it work…

  3. Robert W. Franson Says:

    Having lots of good books is always good. Acquiring new good academic books is weightily good. The major long-term risk is the weightiness of one’s books punching a hole through the Earth’s crust.

    The solution to this risk is to read faster.


Leave a Reply

