Finally, a *really useful* online personality test

You’re St. Melito of Sardis!

You have a great love of history and liturgy. You’re attached to the traditions of the ancients, yet you recognize that the old world — great as it was — is passing away. You are loyal to the customs of your family, though you do not hesitate to call family members to account for their sins.

Find out which Church Father you are at The Way of the Fathers!

Pity, I was hoping for Origen

11 Responses to “Finally, a *really useful* online personality test”

  1. Hannah Kilpatrick Says:

    I got Origen!

    “You do nothing by half-measures. If you’re going to read the Bible, you want to read it in the original languages. If you’re going to teach, you’re going to reach as many souls as possible, through a proliferation of lectures and books. If you’re a guy and you’re going to fight for purity … well, you’d better hide the kitchen shears.”

  2. Jonathan Jarrett Says:

    I’m Melito too, apparently. I think I would have preferred Jerome, but obviously I don’t know enough to fix the results appropriately…

    • highlyeccentric Says:

      If you were Jerome and I were Origen, wouldn’t we have to have a big public theological dispute?

      Mind you, if you were Jerome, you’d have to have a dispute with EVERYBODY.

      • Jonathan Jarrett Says:

        Well, actually, given our respective locations Alexandria’s not a bad halfway point! Damned if I know what we’d dispute about though. Vikings? Wulfstan? “This house believes that the Sermo lupi ad anglos is at least ten per cent more awesome than the other house does, so ner”…

        • highlyeccentric Says:

          I’m sure we could come up with a dispute. We’re creative people!

          Or failing that, a beverage.

          • Jonathan Jarrett Says:

            Beverages are harder to find in Alexandria now than they were in the Fathers’ day, though. I take it you’re not in a position to go to Kalamazoo, which would be sort of halfway in the other direction?

            • highlyeccentric Says:

              Not this year, no. I’m thinking of Leeds or the Zoo *next* year (depending on which continent I end up applying to), but I started back too late this year and missed the CFPs.

              • Jonathan Jarrett Says:

                I would, reluctantly, agree that it’s not really worth doing at your level unless you have something to present, but you may find (if you would want) that the sessions still missing people might be glad to hear from you.

                • highlyeccentric Says:

                  It’s not so much about level – I’d LOVE to go along and just listen! But it’s not worth the distance, and I couldn’t wheedle funding out of the CMS unless I were presenting.

                  I didn’t realise that sessions might still be missing people! It’s probably a bit much to add a conference paper to my list of Things To Do while trying to write two thesis proposals (one for this one, one for the next), is the other consideration.

                  • april Says:

                    Do you already have plans for next year? PhD, I assume. I’m jealous! Wouldn’t it be great to go to the zoo? Maybe in my 6 months off (coming up), I’ll save up enough to head there or Leeds.
                    If so, I shall rub it in everyone’s face for ever. Except, of course, proper academics like you, JJ.
                    XX apes

                    • Jonathan Jarrett Says:

                      I’m really not that proper an academic! I don’t have an academic post and I publish about once every five years. I have now sunk to the point where people ask me to give papers about blogging, FFS. So rub all you like. Er.


Leave a Reply

