I aten’t dead!

Just busy! However, I thought I’d swing by and share this fine piece of scholarship which I prepared for my paper at the CMS Arthurian Study Day last week:

I was actually talking about heterosocial friendship (specifically Yvain-Lunette) in three versions of the Yvain romance, and tossed this up for cheap laughs. However, it seems to have been very popular, and I ended up in a serious conversation with someone afterwards about why I had placed Roland so low on the twittiness scale compared to other heroes (I have my reasons!).

4 Responses to “I aten’t dead!”

  1. Avedaggio Says:

    Explain your reasons for elevating Roland from the depths of twit-hood, if you please.

  2. Garrett Says:

    I could not stop laughing when I read ‘ANYONE EVER WRITTEN BY MARION ZIMMER BRADLEY.’ How true! I (somehow, miraculously) finished ‘Mists of Avalon’ despite utterly despising every character in the book; I suppose that requires some sort of twisted talent.

  3. Seminar LXXXVI: let him who is without sin start the Fourth Crusade « A Corner of Tenth-Century Europe Says:

    […] for this seminar includes chunks of Geoffroi de Charny and romances, I’m guessing one or two of you may be interested. Dr Laura Ashe is one of the local medievalists: I actually met her in Siena and […]

  4. A post in praise of PowerPoint « The Naked Philologist Says:

    […] up on PowerPoint, since the audience would get distracted. Terrible pity, since that ruled out the dot plot of comparative idiocy in Arthurian Romance. Thing is, I’ve always got a good response out of funny slides (that dot plot generated more […]


Leave a Reply

