Aaargh, writing

I am probably a prime candidate for ADM and Notorious’ Writing Group, but due to absence from the intertubes I didn’t notice it was happening at all. Nevertheless: writing. It sucks.

Does anyone else find that their writing becomes a case study in all the things they’re trying to tell undergraduates NOT to do? At the moment I think my thesis is suffering from structure anxiety – I don’t remember having this much panic about what goes where and how to structure subsections when I wrote my Hons. thesis, but at the moment I keep constantly re-writing.

Talking to undergrads about how to structure things helped, though. Sometimes I’m even able to leave a note for myself, as if I were marking someone else’s work, and move right on.

Mostly, I’m not. Mostly, I think I’m much better at *teaching* writing skills than employing them. That sucks, for someone who’s thought of herself as A Writer her whole life.

Someone please tell me I’m not the only one in this boat?

Posted in Uncategorized. Tags: . 1 Comment »

One Response to “Aaargh, writing”

  1. Kath Says:

    Definitely not.


Leave a Reply

