Tours: other things

Tours - Place Plumereau

This is the Place Plumereau, where the cool people eat dinner. (I, meanwhile, ate mostly in the Rue Colbert, which is also pretty trendy, but has more Indian, Asian and Lebanese restaurants.) That row of houses is, I believe, mostly late 16th century.

When it’s not summer, the Old Town of Tours is also where students hang out.

Garbage bin with graffiti reading 'veni, vidi, vomi'Students, or people with terrible taste in puns.

Sunset over the LoireI almost dropped my handbag in the Loire, taking this photo.

Severely eroded gargoyle, clutching at his mostly-worn-away faceBack up at the Cathedral, this gargoyle is anguished at the loss of his facial features.

TL;DR – I really liked Tours. It was pretty, and easy to navigate, and the up-side of the fact that the citizens of the Loire region supposedly have ‘pure, accentless’ French is that by and large, everyone talking to you sounds like a second-year listening test. On the basis of a couple of days in Tours, it seems that I would only pass second-year listening tests if they were about feisty 15th-century nuns who went to Quebec. ‘How to get into the hotel at night’ and ‘how to buy museum tickets’ are both beyond me, but hagiography? I HAVE MASTERED THAT SHIT.

Actually, speaking of French, I’m enrolled in Alliance Française conversation classes this semester – if only so that I don’t look like such a fool in front of the fourth-year honours class, whose seminars I’m auditing by way of listening practice. The nice lady who did my admissions interview told me I have ‘very good spoken French’. I think she’s delusional, but she sorted me into level B1 classes, and provided they actually get enough enrollments, I shall attempt to regain my old habit of gabbling away in scruffy but enthusiastic French.

3 Responses to “Tours: other things”

  1. Annelise Says:

    The Loire looks gorgeous, such a memorable atmosphere there.

    As to finding it easier to talk about medieval nuns than hotels or museums, that’s kind of wonderful! Perhaps French is your heart language even before it’s your most fluent one…

  2. Annelise Says:

    I agree, that would be the better explanation!

    A good choice, especially if your dialect values amusement. People noted for their miracles get the most bizarre stories, both the real parts and the fictional! And of course your chances of finding eligible soul-mates from the fourteenth century are unusually high in this field…


Leave a Reply

