Academic spam – now that is not something I had expected

Here’s something I forgot to mention earlier, but found pretty bizarre – not long after the IAS I got targeted academic spam! It’s from a company, and a journal, who don’t deserve the google hits. I may be gullible*, but even I know not to trust a supposed humanities journal who can’t construct a sentence properly.

There are a couple of threads over at the Chronicle Forums which go over the complete, ridonkulous shadiness of this enterprise.

I like to think that properly trained academics are too skeptical to fall for this, but then, I suspect they prey on little-known scholars who may be desperate for publication. BAH.

~

* Just ask my father. He once convinced me there were left and right shoelaces. I was, mark you, twenty at the time.

Leave a Reply

