Oh hey, a resource

I may be the last person on the internet to read Notorius How To Write Your (Undergrad) Paper In Seven Days. But in case I’m not, have a link!

I’m intrigued. I’m not sure anyone had ever told me to write topic sentences first – but I’m pretty sure that I do, for the most part. Or days on which I do that are days when I write well. Intriguing.  I may print out this list (with credit) and add it to the arsenal of writing-tips with which I berate my students. Thoughts, O former-students-who-read-this?

4 Responses to “Oh hey, a resource”

  1. Annelise Says:

    I like this a lot! This is the sort of process I write by once research is done, and in about the same amount of time, but normally all in the space of one night :S I can spend a couple of weeks researching, or a couple of full days at least, for an essay, but starting early with the writing itself and just doing a little at a time is something I’ve never been able to do.

    It would be great to have the time to write carefully, let thoughts and structure settle in between writing, edit after productive rest, etc. These time slots seem really achievable, and remind me of what you wrote earlier about making your paper/thesis part of your life rather than the thing you drop everything else to *just get done*.

    Thoughts on juggling a few essays, and random commitments, at a time? It would be easy to miss one or two days of this schedule, and soon end up with a last-minute effort again.

  2. Kiera Says:

    Definitely helpful to break it down like that. However I think most students aren’t nearly so efficient with their time.


Leave a Reply

